HLC Peer Review Team and Site Visit Itinerary

Meet the HLC Peer Review Team

A team of representatives from the Higher Learning Commission will visit Southern West Virginia Community and Technical College on March 2-3, 2020.  While on our campuses, the Peer Review Team will hold meetings with students, faculty, staff, and the institutional Board of Governors as they determine whether the College has fully and appropriately addressed the four areas of concern identified by a Peer Review Team following the on-site Assurance Argument Review Visit in February 2018.  Please click here to view the Peer Review Team Focused Visit Itinerary.



Dr. Jeanne K. Swarthout, Team Chair
Former President
Northland Pioneer College, Holbrook, AZ

  • Doctor of Philosophy in Anthropology, Arizona State University

  • Master of Arts in Anthropology, Florida State University

  • Bachelor of Arts in Anthropology, Arizona State University

Dr. Jeanne K. Swarthout retired in June 2018 as the President of Northland Pioneer College after serving as the college’s seventh and first female President since May 2007.  She had served as the college’s Dean of Liberal Arts and Vice President of Instruction/Learning since 2001.  She has also held academic and leadership roles at New Mexico State University, Northern Arizona University, University of Phoenix, and Arizona State University.   Dr. Swarthout is currently chair of the Arizona Community College Coordinating Council (AC4); chair of the Friends of Petrified Forest board; is an ex officio member of the Arizona Commerce Authority; serves on the executive board for Arizona Women in Higher Education; and the leadership team for the Northeastern Arizona Chapter of United Way of Northern Arizona.

Dr. Russell D. Baker
Vice President for Academic Affairs
Ivy Tech Community College of Indiana, Indianapolis, IN

  • Doctor of Education in Educational Leadership, Ball State University

  • Master of Arts in History, Kent State University

  • Bachelor of Arts in History, Huntington University

Dr. Russell Baker has served as the Vice President for Academic Affairs at Ivy Tech Community College of Indiana since 2012. He previously served as Associate Vice President of Academic Affairs and has been with Ivy Tech since 2006.  Prior to his statewide role, Dr. Baker served as Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs at the Fort Wayne campus, as well as interim Chancellor.  Prior to his career at Ivy Tech, he spent nearly 20 years at the Indiana Institute of Technology where he served in multiple leadership roles.  Dr. Baker served as Associate Vice President of the College of Business and Arts for six years, as Associate Dean of Students for seven years, and was responsible for all aspects of the Freshman College division.  He began his career at Indiana Institute of Technology in 1987 as Director of Student Support Services.  Dr. Baker began his professional career at Huntington University in 1983 as an admissions representative where he was responsible for student recruitment in norther Indiana and Michigan.

Dr. Nanette L. Smith
Director of Assessment and Quality Improvement
James A. Rhodes State College, Lima, OH

  • Doctor of Education in Education Leadership and Management, Capella University

  • Master of Science in Environmental Management, University of Findlay

  • Bachelor of Science in Chemical Engineering, North Carolina A&T State University

Dr. Nanette Smith has served as the Director of Assessment and Quality Improvement at James A. Rhodes State College in Lima, Ohio since 2015.  Dr. Smith previously served as Assistant Professor at EHS Technology in Lima from 2005 - 2016, and as Interim Assistant Dean of Information Technology / Engineering Technology in the Lima Ohio area September 2012 to June 2015.